Celebrating the Top Crisis Management Teams from the 2014 Global Congress on Travel Risk Management

  • Home
  • Safety & Security
  • Celebrating the Top Crisis Management Teams from the 2014 Global Congress on Travel Risk Management

Click here to view photo gallery

We applaud the determination and innovative thinking of our corporate travel risk teams during the Immersive Crisis Management Training (ICMT) segment of the 2014 Global Congress on Travel Risk Management.  They hit the ground running and successfully took on two devastating crises, the Tsunami on Jaeson Island and the Coup in Tierra Linda. Not only did they quickly execute damage control and protect personnel and assets but also developed policies to help the companies they represented in the scenarios deal with similar events in the future.

Team 1, sponsored by Griffin Global Group and made up of representatives from CGG, DistributionNOW, Griffin, Marathon Oil, Rowan Companies, Pacific Drilling, and Technip, earned the highest overall score and went home with the Crisis Management Gold Award. Team 7, made up of representatives from EuropAssistance USA, Harland Clark Holdings Group, Kroger, NASA, Sandia National Laboratories, and the University of Houston—Downtown, earned the highest score in Tsunami on Jaeson Island and won the Environmental Disaster Management Award. Team 3, sponsored by Travel & Transport and made up of representatives from AllState, Hill-Rom, KBR, and Travel & Transport, earned the highest score in Coup in Tierra Linda and won the Political Disaster Management Award.

We’d like to issue a special thanks to our facilitators, subject-matter experts who both advised and evaluated our ICMT teams in all aspects of travel disruption and crisis management:

Akash Patel (Air Partner) Art Garffer (AFIMAC) Brad Bonnell (Extended Stay America) Bruce McIndoe (iJET) Charles Brossman (FCm Travel Solutions) Charlie LeBlanc (FrontierMEDEX) Gregory Wahl (OSAC) James Eiler (Kaiser Swindell & Eiler) Jeffrey Schulman (Dickstein Shapiro) Jim Rovers (AFIMAC) Johan Selle (iJET) John Sturgill (Independent contractor) Kendall Hayden (Cozen O’Connor) Larry Stephens (A Briggs Passport & Visa Expeditors) Robert Martel (NASA) Steve Cocco (Security Strategies Today) Todd Fowler (FosterQuan) Todd Seiders (Petra Risk Solutions) Tom Winn (University of Houston – Downtown)

We’d also like to thank our alliances, all of whom are champions of safe and secure travel:

iJET (Foundation Alliance) Griffin Global Group (Foundation Alliance) FCm Travel Solutions (Foundation Alliance) Concur (Foundation Alliance) UnitedHealthcare International (Foundation Alliance) ACTE Global (Foundation Alliance) Petra Risk Solutions (Foundation Alliance) Royal Sonesta Hotel (Patron Alliance) AFIMAC (Patron Alliance) Extended Stay America (Patron Alliance) Security Strategies Today (Patron Alliance) Travel and Transport (Patron Alliance) Wings Travel Management (Partner Alliance) FosterQuan (PartnerAlliance) University of Houston—Downtown (Partner Alliance) Robson Forensic (Partner Alliance) CTDA (Partner Alliance) ECPAT (Exhibitor) EuropAssistance (Exhibitor) Rimkus (Exhibitor) HVS (Associations and Other Alliances) Business Traveller (Associations and Other Alliances) Kaiser Swindell & Eiler (Associations and Other Alliances) Gray Robinson (Associations and Other Alliances) Texas Hotel & Lodging Association (Associations and Other Alliances) Business Travel News (Associations and Other Alliances) Best Western (Associations and Other Alliances) Business Travel Executive (Associations and Other Alliances) Hospitality Safety & Security Services (Associations and Other Alliances) HKS (Associations and Other Alliances) Baltimore-Washington Business Travel Association (Associations and Other Alliances) Texas Business Travel Association (Associations and Other Alliances) Homeland Security Magazine (Associations and Other Alliances) GHCVB (Associations and Other Alliances)

By popular demand (already!), ICMTs will return next year at the 2015 Global Congress with all-new scenarios, videos, and additional features. For those who walked away with either a scenario win or the Crisis Management Gold, come back next year to protect your title! For the rest of you, 2015 is your chance to unseat the current champions and claim the title of best crisis management team. This exercise will be limited to twenty teams of eight personnel each; many seats have already been reserved, so if ICMTs would benefit you and/or your team, don’t miss your chance to participate!

For more information about registration or hosting a crisis management team, please contact Jessica Hagmaier at jessica@hospitalitylawyer.com or 713.963.8800.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *